Testimonials - Gite Bijou

Gite Bijou
Add A Testimonial
A Fabulous property in a beautiful location
11 September 2018
So impressed by this property and the owners. We felt really welcome and found everything we could possibly have needed, and lots more. The pool is fab and the air conditioning was very welcome in the heat of August. The bikes proved really popular with the kids and we loved cycling alongside the canal to buy croissants from the village for breakfast. Thank you for a truly memorable holiday...we will be back!
Amazing week!
30 August 2018
What an amazing week we had as a family of 4. Carol and Louis (the dog) showed us around and we were made very welcome from the minute we arrived. We were informed about the facilities and local amenities/attractions.
Gite was immaculate and well stocked. Aircon upstairs was just perfect as weather was hot during our stay.
Shared pool was well utilised, as was the honesty bar at very fair prices!
Garden with badminton, trampoline and space for the kids to run around was perfect. Access to the canal and the use of bikes for free.
Location is perfect, typical French sleepy village with Boulangerie and bar/café.
So much to do locally from mountains, sea, lakes and of course Carcassonne just down the road.
As a family we absolutely loved the week we had here, we don't normally revisit places, but have already made enquiries for next year!
Thanks Carol and Andy
Stunning
23 August 2018
Thank you very much for your hospitality, the house was absolutely immaculate and the grounds were stunning. We thouroghly enjoyed our say and would definitely recommend to others!
Excellent holiday experience
02 August 2018
Loved it here the facilities are first class, great pool, lovely gardens and surrounding areas and the gites are very good quality. Very warm welcome and great assistance throughout from Andrew and Carol, highly recommended
Very Relaxing
26 June 2018
Very Relaxing
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Fantastic Gite in rural France, all mod cons as described
Lovely pool with very comfy sun chairs
Fresh eggs each day from owners chickens - really nice touch
We loved the owners dog - he was like part of the family for the 3 weeks we were there
Carol & Andrew were the perfect hosts
Thank you for a very relaxing time!!
Lovely getaway in the Languedoc countryside...with none of the inconveinience
26 September 2017
The house was lovely and set up to a very high specification. Carol and Andy Ross could not have been more helpful. Location was great with canal du midi on the doorstep and many local amenities and attractions within a reasonable driving distance. Great gite, great people. Would highly recommend !
A great place to stay in a hidden part of France
11 August 2017
A lovely property, well appointed & looked after by the fantastic owners. Located by the canal in a quiet village but loads to do nearby
WONDERFUL PROPERTY AND FACILITIES
08 August 2017
The house and grounds were wonderful. Beautifully furnished, clean and tidy and with excellent facilities, all well described on the website. We particularly liked the facility of a well stocked fridge by the pool with an honesty box for payments! Having direct access onto the Canal Du Midi for walks and bike rides was an added bonus. We would heartily recommend this property to anyone.
“One of the best places we have ever stayed!”
24 August 2014
Les Petits Ecuries is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The whole place was very well equipped and immaculately clean. The heated pool was a big hit with our two girls and at the back of the house the beautiful gardens lead down to the canal tow path. We particularly loved the well stocked honesty bars - with prices the same as you would pay locally, there was no need to keep carrying heavy drinks back from the shops. We stayed in Bijou which was very comfortable and more than big enough for a family of four.
Carol and Andrew were so welcoming and friendly and always available for any queries/local advice, whilst giving us complete privacy. The area was lovely with lots of things to do nearby and plenty of good restaurants (if you can get the children out of the pool)! We would highly recommend exploring on bikes which we borrowed from Andrew, as the canal towpaths are flat and make for easy cycling with no traffic. And not forgetting the friendly village boulangerie which stocks so much local produce as well as delicious bread and cakes.
We had a fabulous holiday, thank you.
"A fantastic week in Bijou!"
07 August 2014
Just back from what has been our best stay in France to date. We have stayed in Gites throughout France with our small children but Petites Ecuries has been, without doubt, the best. It is exactly as listed on the website. Facilities are first class with everything you could possibly need for your holiday. The decor is immaculate and the property is extremely clean and well-maintained. The grounds are idyllic with a garden leading on to the canal, and a beautiful pool and spacious pool area. The owners, Carol and Andrew, have thought of everything. They are incredibly friendly and welcoming, providing little touches like some groceries to help you settle in, tips on the best places to eat and visit, and an array of bicycles to suit any family. Our children (aged 3 and 5 years) truly had a super holiday, we're just sorry we didn't book for two weeks! We will definitely be returning in the future. Thank you Carol and Andrew!
“Bijou villa in beautiful grounds”
26 July 2014
After a stunning drive down through the varied landscapes of France we were greeted at the gates by Carol and her lovely (very large) dog, Louis who both showed us round the beautiful extensive gardens. We were staying in the Bijou a bright, airy, well appointed villa with a modern open feel. Carol had very kindly left a welcome pack which came in very handy as we had little time to shop for groceries that evening. Overall a charming place to stay with lots to see and do in the surrounding area. It would have been nice to have a Visitors Book in the villa. It’s always helpful to look at activities and restaurants that past guests have enjoyed, as well as adding your own thoughts into the book.
Beautifull gite with all you need in Carcassonne !
17 May 2014
We have spent 3 nights in a lovely gite held by really kind hosts. My daughter has enjoyed the beautifull grass, the eggs on the henhouse, the swimming-pool. Thank you Carol and Andrew for saving our dog so tired to follow us in bicycles !!! We will come back of course ... See you soon.
"Perfect place for a family getaway."
05 September 2013
We had the most perfect holiday. Very comfortable accomodation set in gorgeous gardens.The saltwater pool was Fab.There was so much for the kids to do onsite and they had a ball.The canal was great for cycling and walking the dogs. We loved sitting out on the terrace watching the boats pass by.Carol and Andrew were Perfect hosts and we could not recommend the place highly enough.We miss Les Petits Ecuries and hope to return in the future. Marcus Elaine Emily & Rory.
Review of Bijou, Marseillette, July 2013
29 June 2013
Overall very good. We liked the cleanliness & facilities of the property and the friendliness of the staff Carol and Andrew. They were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. They attended promptly to any problems we had (e.g TV, DVD etc) and gave advice on the local area. The gite had everything we needed and provisions for a 2 year old toddler were well thought out (high chair, cot, stair guard etc). The swimming pool was a plus and enjoyed that a lot. If I was asked how I would improve the place I would say only a few minor points. We needed some oven gloves and we found the back patio was out of bounds for young children due to the unfenced drop into the garden. I would recommend this place to others and we enjoyed this quiet part of France away from the tourist hot spots. Particularly enjoyed being so close the canal and country lanes with vineyards a plenty. Also near to Carcassonne city and not too far (80mins) from the beach. Thanks a lot !
Fantactic family holiday in amazing gite.
04 June 2013
We stayed in GiteTango which was very accurately descibed and photographed on the owners' website, just as lovely in real life. All facilities inside and out were of a high standard and spotlessly clean,with everything you need for a carefree holiday, including a welcome drink or two. Briliant property for children, our 11 year old twins loved all the activities avaliable to them without even leaving the grounds. They arrived to find a wii in their bedroom and were overjoyed. However they never actually used it because of everything provided outdoors, table tennis. trampoline, swings, swing ball, not to mention the large pool and family bikes avaliable. Surrounding area was delightful, walking along the canal path in the evening sun was beautiful, but what really made the holiday special was how well we were looked after as a family by Carol, nothing was too much trouble, she really did go out of her way to make sure we all enjoyed ourselves and had a fun and relaxing holiday. We wouldn't hestiate to recommend to family and friends and have already done so, also hope to revisit ourselves sometime. Also just to mention how efficient and easy the booking process was. Ten out of ten, missing my pool lounger and the boulangerie already.
What a fabulous weekend
03 June 2013
What a great weekend we had me & my partner great accommodation & great weather. Nice & peaceful, relaxing break, also our accommodation was very clean & tidy. carol was very accommodating & helpful for any needs we asked for. Loved the bike rides along the canal & visiting Carcassonne castle, i would recommend our stay to friends & family, also very accommodating for children. we would definitely be arranging another stay soon. Thank you.
Early Season Visit to Carcassonne
12 April 2013
This was an early season visit to the area. Andrew & Carol have spared no expense furnishing these gites. There is a wonderful salt water pool at the front (we didn't use because it was chilly) and a lovely terrace at the back with Gas BBQ overlooking the Canal Du Midi.

Andrew & Carol couldn't have been more hospitable, and the welcome when we arrived was very warm. The property is ideally locatted between Narbonne (on the coast) and the medieval walled city of Carcassonne.

If you do stay here, say a big hello to their dog, Louis...he's gorgeous! Thank you Andrew & Carol!

Dan & Rose McGill
Great Stay!
06 October 2012
Having just returned after a 10 day stay i can say that we had a great time Bijou was very spacious, modern and very clean. we had everything we needed. On arrival we were welcomed with bread, cheese,ham, milk red and rose wine despite being a self catering holiday. We had daily walks along the canal which is at the bottom of the garden even watching a collision in the lock (not serious and no injuries) the pool was available to use and sunbeds were available. we were also trusted with a pool bar where we could help ourselves and leave funds in the pot. it was a pleasure to stay here and have already booked to return next year. last of all i would like to say a big thank you to Carol and Andrew for their hospitality
What a Fantastic Time
05 September 2012
Firstly, I would like to say a massive thank you to Carol and Andrew who were the most amazing hosts ever. Any Problem, Any time, they were around to handle our every request.
I have never had a holiday like this, 'What a Fantastic Time'. With Guests in both Bijou and Tango having seperate pools you really do feel as though you have your own privacy. The rooms were spacious and wonderfully decorated. It was clean and tidy, right down to the outside barbecue. Carol and Andrew really have taken good care of this place. The Canal Du Midi right at the bottom of the garden is perfect for an evening walk or an early morning run. Also, dinner on the back terrace whilst watching the boats go by was a spectacular sight. I would definitely recommend this villa to anybody. It is much better than it is described, I am definitely going to return.
Our holiday staying at Bijou in August 2012
04 September 2012
What an amazing place this is !! We had the most fantastic holiday , Bijou was exactly what we had hoped for and beyond . It was immaculate , everything thing you needed with exceptional quality . Carole and Andrew were so welcoming , nothing was too much trouble, always there if we needed anything but also gave us the space that we needed . During our stay it was particularly hot so air conditioning would have made a couple of the nights easier to sleep but I understand that's in the pipeline ! The pool bar was fab , they even supplied the kids with free ice-creams which the kids loved ! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wishes for a perfect , relaxing break with the family . We shall definitely be returning .
FANTASTIC FAMILY HOLIDAY
07 August 2012
What a fantastic place to stay!! Me, my partner and our 2 sons (10yrs and 3yrs) had such an amazing holiday and cannot wait to return. The gite was very clean and spacious, with everything we needed and more. The facilities there kept both my children happy, especially the pool and the bikes. Even as a couple we enjoyed peaceful evenings together once the children were in bed watching the boats on the canal. Thank you to Carol and Andrew you made our holiday amazing =)
Would 100% recommend to family and friends
Perfect holiday in Marseillette
03 August 2012
I really did hesitate before writing up a review for Bijou because with such a fantastic place to stay, we just really want to keep it to ourselves... Sout of France surroundings (and sunny weather) and British hospitality, this is just what we needed when we arrived with our two children after a long trip from Lille. The place was even better than expected : it was spotless clean, comfortable, extremely well-equipped with all appliances you can hope for, and a great barbecue outside. We had the pool to ourselves, which was such a treat, and it just looked fantastic with outdoor kitchen and lovely garden furniture. On the other side of the house lies a large and green garden, with direct access to the Canal du Midi. Carol and Andrew were the perfect hosts, both very discreet and forthcoming whenever you needed anything for the house or directions. We were welcomed with fresh bread and cheese, vegetables from the garden and fresh beer and soda in the fridge. We had the happiest holidays for a long time and we are very thankful for it.
Brilliant holiday!
11 July 2012
We enjoyed a fantastic fortnight, staying in Bijou. Andrew and Carol were excellent hosts and made us feel vey welcome indeed - nothing was too much trouble and their good humour at all times was infectious! We were treated to lovely fresh produce from the garden - delicious! Bijou was spotlessly clean, well furnished and had everything we could have possibly needed. We enjoyed the pool which was a good size and there were plenty of areas to relax in or out of the sun, helped along with a wonderful choice of chilled drinks, ice creams etc from the poolhouse. We particularly enjoyed using the BBQ on our patio oveloking the lovely garden and canal with a glass of 'something chilled' and watching the lights come on in the garden as it became dark. When we could move ourselves away from the pool, the market at Olonzac was worth a visit; Sigean Safari Park - 45 mins away - good for grown ups too; Carcassonne of course and all points along the canal - good to see by bike. The 2 hour boat trip from Homps is also a good way to see the canal. Thank you Andrew and Carol
Lovely place to stay
16 June 2012
Hi Andrew and Carol,
Thanks for a lovely holiday in excellent accomodation.
Wanted to write a review but can't find anywhere on the website to do so! Maybe it's just too full of other good reviews? Happy for you to cut and paste this somewhere. On the upside, Mum and Dad went by your way and picked up a case of wine for us so that will hopefully clear away some of the gloom we now face back here in the rain.
BW Fiona, Simon, Meg and Frank
30 November -0001
Our first extended trip to South of France was a memorable break and one we are sure to repeat. I flew to Carcassonne with my wife and teenage daughters, picked up our rental car and was at Les Petites Ecuries in no time at all. Glasgow to South of France in less than half a day! We had a very warm welcome from Andrew and Carol and the gite was just as described on the website. We had an excellent week of sightseeing and relaxing, absorbing the local culture, hospitality and cuisine. Would wholeheartedly recommend the accommodation and the locale.